Advertisers warned they might not like Facebook's new 'clear history' tool

Josh Peachey's picture

As part of the social media giant's objective to be more transparent with users, the new 'clear history' tool will allow people to see which websites send your browsing activity to Facebook.

The new ad-targeting tool will provide Facebook users with more information than ever before about how their data is used for marketing purposes - they will even be able to remove information from that company's servers. 

Once the Clear History tool becomes available, advertisers are expected to have a harder time targetting people on the social network. 

Facebook warned businesses who advertise on the network in a blog post, saying: "When someone disconnects their off-Facebook activity, we won't use the data they clear for targeting.

"This means that targeting options powered by Facebook's business tools, like the Facebook pixel, can't be used to reach someone with ads. This includes Custom Audiences built from visitors to websites or apps."

Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg announcing the change in May 2018

Mark Zuckerberg announced the change as part of a range of improvements in May 2018, saying "Today, we’re announcing plans to build Clear History. This feature will enable you to see the websites and apps that send us information when you use them, delete this information from your account, and turn off our ability to store it associated with your account going forward."

In the blog post to businesses yesterday, the social network told businesses that being more transparent, and having more trusting users, will ultimately be better for business.